Deciding on a new iPhone involves more than just picking the model — the price tag can swing wildly depending on where you buy. The Apple Store in Ireland currently lists the 256GB iPhone 17 Pro Max from €1,339, but Irish carriers like Tesco Mobile offer dramatically different entry points. This guide breaks down every price option, explains what drives the cost, and helps you find the best deal in the country.

Apple Store (256GB): €1,339 ·
Tesco Mobile prepay: €1,529.99 ·
Tesco Mobile contract: from €55/month ·
Three handset price: €529 (via Switcher.ie) ·
Storage base: 256 GB

Quick snapshot

1Confirmed facts
2What’s unclear
  • Exact launch date for Irish market not specified
  • Retail stock levels at Harvey Norman and Currys unconfirmed
  • Future price drops or trade‑in values unknown
3Timeline signal
4What’s next
  • Watch for retailer price drops post‑launch
  • Check carrier exclusive bundles (Three, Vodafone, eir)
  • Trade‑in offers may reduce upfront cost

These price points set the stage for a deeper look at each purchasing option. The table below summarizes the key price facts.

Key iPhone 17 Pro Max price facts
Label Value
Apple Store SIM-free 256GB €1,339 (Apple Ireland)
Apple Education Store 512GB €1,739 (Apple Ireland Education Store)
Apple Education Store 1TB €1,989 (Apple Ireland Education Store)
Apple Education Store 2TB €2,489 (Apple Ireland Education Store)
Cheapest prepay €1,529.99 at Tesco Mobile (Tesco Mobile Ireland)
Cheapest contract (Tesco) €55/month with Clubcard (Tesco Mobile Ireland)
Three handset price (via Switcher) €529.00 (Switcher.ie)
Vodafone handset price (via Switcher) €629.99 (Switcher.ie)
eir handset price (via Switcher) €699.00 (Switcher.ie)
Tesco Mobile contract handset price €779.99 (Tesco Mobile Ireland)
Tesco contract plan (unlimited data) €55/month, unlimited 5G, 50GB EU data (Tesco Mobile Ireland)
iPhone 17 base price (for context) from €1,129 (Apple Ireland)

The pattern is clear: Apple’s official pricing is the baseline, while carriers add layers of cost or savings depending on contract terms.

How much does an iPhone 17 Pro Max cost?

Official Apple Store price

  • 256GB: €1,339 (Apple Ireland official store)
  • 512GB: €1,739 (Apple Education Store)
  • 1TB: €1,989 (Apple Education Store)
  • 2TB: €2,489 (Apple Education Store)

The Apple Store offers the full lineup with official warranty and financing options. The 2TB cap is confirmed by Apple’s own product page (Apple Ireland).

Carrier contract prices

  • Tesco Mobile: €55/month with Clubcard (€60 regular), 24‑month contract, includes unlimited 5G data, 10,000 minutes/texts, 50GB EU roaming (Tesco Mobile Ireland)
  • Three: handset from €529 (Switcher.ie comparison site)
  • Vodafone: handset from €629.99 (Switcher.ie comparison site)
  • eir: handset from €699 (Switcher.ie comparison site)

The pattern: Contract plans hide the handset cost in monthly payments. The Tesco plan at €55/month totals €1,320 over 24 months plus the upfront handset price of €779.99 – a combined €2,099.99. That’s still above the Apple Store 256GB price.

SIM-free retail prices

  • Currys: from €1,000 (noted in SERP, but exact model not specified)

Currys Ireland lists a SIM-free option starting at €1,000, though the exact storage tier is unconfirmed. Independent retailers often undercut Apple but may offer older stock or limited availability.

Bottom line: Buyers who pay upfront get the lowest total cost from the Apple Store. Those who spread payments over a contract pay more overall, with the Tesco plan costing €2,099.99 total versus €1,339 outright.

What is the price of the iPhone 17 Pro Max in Ireland?

Price in Euro at Apple Store

All Apple Store prices include Irish VAT (23% approximately). The 256GB model costs €1,339, the 512GB €1,739, 1TB €1,989, and 2TB €2,489 (Apple Ireland). The Education Store offers identical pricing to the regular store for Pro Max models.

Prices at Irish retailers

  • Tesco Mobile: prepay €1,529.99 (Tesco Mobile Ireland carrier)
  • Three: handset from €529 (via Switcher.ie comparison site)
  • Vodafone: handset from €629.99 (via Switcher.ie comparison site)
  • eir: handset from €699 (via Switcher.ie comparison site)
  • Harvey Norman: price not specified in available data
  • Currys: from €1,000 (SERP mention, no storage tier)

VAT included?

All prices in this article include Irish VAT unless stated otherwise. The Apple Store prices are final at checkout.

The trade-off

Buyers who want the lowest upfront cost will pick a carrier handset price (Three at €529), but those plans require a contract. The real cost of ownership depends on your monthly data needs.

Why is the iPhone Pro Max 17 so expensive?

Premium materials and new chip

The Pro Max uses a titanium frame, a larger 6.9-inch display, and the latest A19 Pro chip. Apple’s product page confirms storage up to 2TB (Apple Ireland). These components drive up the bill of materials.

Display and camera technology

  • ProMotion 120Hz OLED display
  • Triple-camera system with telephoto lens
  • LiDAR scanner for AR and low-light focus

The camera system alone is comparable to a standalone compact camera. Each lens adds to the manufacturing cost.

Brand premium

Apple positions the Pro Max as its flagship. The price gap over the standard Pro (from €1,129) is about €210 for the base model, partly because of the larger screen and battery. The margin on Pro Max models is historically higher, reflecting the aspirational segment (Switcher.ie comparison).

Why this matters

For Irish buyers, the €2,489 top‑end price is nearly double the standard iPhone 17. The premium features benefit creative professionals, but casual users may overpay for capacity they never use.

What is the cheapest price for an iPhone 17 Pro Max?

Prepay deals (Tesco)

Tesco Mobile offers the iPhone 17 Pro Max prepay at €1,529.99 (Tesco Mobile Ireland carrier). No long‑term contract is required, but you pay the full handset cost upfront.

Contract deals (Three, Vodafone, eir)

  • Three: handset from €529 with a plan (Switcher.ie comparison site)
  • Vodafone: handset from €629.99 (Switcher.ie comparison site)
  • eir: handset from €699 (Switcher.ie comparison site)

SIM-free deals (Currys, Apple)

  • Apple Store: €1,339 (256GB) (Apple Ireland)
  • Currys: from €1,000 (storage unknown)

The cheapest upfront option is Three’s handset price at €529, but that requires a monthly plan. The cheapest outright purchase is the Apple Store 256GB at €1,339 – if you can live with the base storage.

Bottom line: Buyers who want zero monthly commitment should choose the Apple Store 256GB at €1,339. Contract shoppers should compare total cost over 24 months, not just the handset price.

Which iPhone is better, the 17 Pro or the Pro Max?

Price difference

The iPhone 17 starts at €1,129 (Apple Ireland), while the Pro Max 256GB starts at €1,339 – a €210 gap. Higher storage tiers widen the difference.

Size and display

Pro Max: 6.9-inch display. Pro: likely 6.3-inch. The Pro Max is physically larger and heavier, suited for media consumption and productivity.

Camera and battery

The Pro Max typically includes the best telephoto lens and larger battery. Apple’s lineup positioning makes the Pro Max the choice for photographers and heavy users.

The trade‑off: For €210, you get a bigger screen, longer battery life, and a better camera system. If portability matters more, the Pro is lighter and cheaper.

iPhone 17 Pro vs iPhone 17 Pro Max comparison
Feature iPhone 17 Pro iPhone 17 Pro Max
Starting price (256GB) €1,129 €1,339 (Apple Ireland)
Display size 6.3-inch 6.9-inch
Battery life Up to 22h video Up to 28h video
Camera system Triple 48MP Triple 48MP + telephoto
Storage options 128GB/256GB/512GB 256GB/512GB/1TB/2TB

The implication: Pro Max buyers get a premium package, but the price climbs quickly. For most Irish users, the 256GB Pro is enough; the Pro Max only makes sense if you need the extra battery and storage.

Confirmed facts

  • Apple Store 256GB: €1,339 (Apple Ireland)
  • Tesco Mobile prepay: €1,529.99 (Tesco Mobile Ireland)
  • Tesco contract: €55/month (Tesco Mobile Ireland)
  • Three handset: €529 (Switcher.ie)
  • Storage up to 2TB (Apple Ireland)

What’s unclear

  • Exact launch date in Ireland
  • Stock availability at Harvey Norman
  • Future price reductions
  • Trade‑in values from carriers

The iPhone 17 Pro Max is available from €1,339 on the Apple Store, making it one of the most expensive smartphones on the market.

Apple Ireland official product page

Tesco Mobile offers the iPhone 17 Pro Max prepay at €1,529.99, a competitive alternative to buying SIM‑free from Apple.

Tesco Mobile Ireland carrier listing

For Irish consumers, the decision comes down to upfront cost vs. total cost of ownership. The Apple Store gives you the lowest outright price for the base model, while carriers like Three offer the cheapest handset entry point but lock you into a contract. The €1,339 price point is a solid reference – anything above that buys storage or convenience.

Frequently asked questions

Can I buy the iPhone 17 Pro Max in store?

Yes, Apple Stores and authorized resellers in Ireland stock the iPhone 17 Pro Max. Tesco Mobile and Currys also carry it in-store.

Will the iPhone 17 Pro Max price go down after launch?

Historically, Apple does not drop prices for at least 6 months. Carriers may offer discounts during sales events like Black Friday.

What is the trade-in value for an iPhone 17 Pro Max?

Trade‑in values vary by carrier and device condition. Apple Ireland offers trade‑in quotes online; typical values range from €200–€600 for recent iPhones.

Does the iPhone 17 Pro Max come with a charging adapter?

No. Apple no longer includes a charger in the box. You’ll need a USB‑C charger sold separately.

Are there any student discounts for the iPhone 17 Pro Max?

Apple Education Store prices are identical to regular store for Pro Max models. Students can get a discount on AppleCare+ but not on the device itself.